Facilities to Citizens

Last updated on : 12.01.2014  

Disclosure under Section 4 (i) (b) (xv) of RTI Act, 2005

 

KHUDA BAKHSH ORIENTAL PUBLIC LIBRARY, PATNA

 

Particulars of facilities available to citizens for obtaining information

 
(1) 

Citizens are allowed to utilize the library/research reading room for consulting manuscripts, old and new printed books, periodicals and other reference material for reading and research purposes free of any fee. For conditions for making use of the reading facilities refer to Khuda Bakhsh Oriental Public Library (Maintenance) Regulation 1981.

 
 
 
(2)    Information Kiosks are available in the Research reading room where users search their required material.
 
(3)    Xerox copies and copies of books in C.D. formats are provided to genuine and bonafide scholars against payment for research purposes.
 
 
(4)    Digital images print out  of selected pages of manuscripts are also provided against payment to genuine research scholars.
 
(5)    Online Catalogue of Printed Books & Periodicals.
 
(6)    An e-reading room is also functioning in the library where internet facility is also available.
 
(7)   

Citizens are also allowed to borrow printed books, except those which are not to be issued, for home study after obtaining a permanent membership. For condition for Membership and Loan of Books refer to Khuda Bakhsh Oriental Public Library (Maintenance) Regulation, 1981.

 
 
 
(8)    The timings of the Research Reading Room are from 9.30 A.M. to 5.00 P.M.  Friday is a weekly holiday.
 
(9)   

Newspaper, Magazines and reference books for competitive examinations are available in the Curzon Reading Room of the library for readers and students.

 
 
(10)    The timings of Curzon Reading Room are from 8.00 A. M. to 8.00 P.M. daily. There is no weekly holiday.
 
(11) Holidays to be observed by the library during the year 2014 are as follows:
    Holidays   Date   Days      
   1. Eid- Miladun- Nabi * : 14 January : Tuesday      
  2. Republic Day : 26 January : Sunday      
  3. Holi : 17 March : Monday      
  4. Mahavir Jayanti : 13 April : Sunday      
  5. Budh Purnima : 14 May : Wednesday      
  6. Shab- e Barat * : 14 June : Saturday      
  7. Eid- ul- Fitr * : 29, 30, 31 August : Tue, Wed, Thurs      
  8. Independence Day : 15 August : Friday      
  9. Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday : 2 October : Thursday      
  10. Dusshehra : 3 October : Friday      
  11. Id- Ul Azha * : 6, 7, 8 October : Mon, Tue, Wed      
  12. Deepawali : 23 October : Thursday      
  13. Moharram * : 4 November : Tuesday      
  14. Guru Nanak's Birthday : 6 November : Thursday      
 

15.

X- mas Day : 25 December : Thursday      
    * The date for these holidays may be changed according to the visibility of the moon.